14
May
08

On Pigs and Piegons

Christopher Rice

“That’s not what I do. I might be more open to that label if I hadn’t introduced ensemble casts of characters. Granted, A Density of Souls is as close to a gay book as you can get. It revolves around a character’s homosexuality and others are described in terms of their reaction to the one character’s sexuality. In that sense it’s at the core of the book. The Snow Garden is about identity. With this book, I’m trying to shrug off the term “gay” author.”

Why can’t we get over this pigheaded particular/general dichotomy? The author, quite understandably, avoids getting pigeonholed, but can we gainsay the importance of advocating or advancing a particular respectable cause?

2 Responses to “On Pigs and Piegons”


  1. 1 shaunindustry
    May 14, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    I’ve never much cared for Christopher Rice. Frankly, I lump him in with Rufus Wainwright – their both good at what they do, but they are horrible representatives of the gay community. Like when Rufus said, “I went through that debauched stage every gay guy goes through where I just wanted to do drugs and have sex with children.” Yes, I am aware he was probably joking, but that’s not the joke to make to the straight media.

  2. May 16, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    I am not at ease with that hush hush secrecy policy. Why should we think of a gay community (if there exists such a thing in the first place) as a convent full of saints. I understand our susceptibility, but the point is we are what we are, like any other community.


Leave a Reply

